CofC Logo

Bridge Programs

College of Charleston provides prospective freshman transfer students with the opportunity to make a successful transition from participating South Carolina two-year colleges to the College of Charleston. Bridge programs are designed to provide students with enhanced academic advising and academic support to readily transfer to the College of Charleston.

Eligibility Criteria and Application Process

College of Charleston Bridge programs are open by invitation to freshman applicants who choose to attend Spartanburg Methodist College, Midlands Technical College*, Greenville Technical College, Piedmont Technical College, or York Technical College during the fall and spring semesters and who have been offered a freshman transfer opportunity to the College of Charleston. Students must also meet minimum placement criteria (see below).**

Students are expected to earn a minimum of 24 transferable credit hours at their chosen institution following high school graduation. The minimum GPA required is 2.6 (in-state) and 3.0 (out-of-state). If the student does not have the requisite grade point average and earned hours at the end of the second semester, he/she may choose to defer the admissions application to a subsequent semester.

Students will pay tuition and fees for full-time enrollment to the transfer institution. Students who have filed the FAFSA should add the transfer institution to the list of colleges to receive their financial aid report.

Completed Bridge applications must be submitted to the Office of Admissions no later than May 10.

* Midlands Technical College Bridge students should consult their Bridge Program office for additional instructions. 

** The South Carolina Technical College placement requirements are: 480 Critical Reading/480 Math (SAT) or 19 English/19 Math (ACT), or by placement examination. These requirements are subject to change. Please check the website of your chosen institution to verify requirements.

Participating Institutions

Greenville Technical College 

Midlands Technical College 

Piedmont Technical College 

York Technical College 

Spartanburg Methodist College 

Participating Institutions

Midlands Region
Michelle McDowell

Upstate Region
Laura Davis